This searchable image repository offers over 13,000 partial and fully digitized items from the Boston Athenæum's collections of rare books, prints, photographs, maps, archives, etc. It is a dynamic database with new materials added frequently.
Archives of various American newspapers made available by the Library of Congress. Click the "Recommended Topics" link for a breakdown of subject coverage and sample articles- this allows you to browse the collection if you don't know what search terms to use.
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This collection is made available through the Hathi Trust Digital Library.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.
This site presents selections from the New-York Historical Society Museum and Library’s holdings, featuring highlights from the collections of paintings, drawings, photographs, manuscripts, broadsides, maps, and other materials that reveal the depth and breadth of over two centuries of collecting.
Explore 741,201 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Published documents--legislation, court proceedings, records, correspondence, etc.--from the 13 original colonies and their predecessors. This collection is made available through the Hathi Trust Digital Library.