LibGuides: Infant Mortality: Abuse & Neglect

Infant Abuse and Neglect

Try the following keywords and related terms when researching this topic: "child abuse"; "shaken baby syndrome"; "child neglect"; "infant trauma"; "failure to thrive"; "parental neglect"; "infanticide"

Information from Databases

Relevant databases for this topic are listed below, along with links to articles that will help you get a sense of what each database has to offer. If you need any help with databases, see Ms. Forfa!

General OneFile: High School Edition High School Edition provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
Research in Context Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Health and Medicine Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Shaken Baby Syndrome
Overview article from Research in Context.
Child Abuse
Overview article from Research in Context
Babies who die often suffer previous abuse (USA Today)
Newspaper article found in Research in Context
Washington: Additional Guidance Would Help States Better Implement Protections for Children
Article found in Health Reference Center Academic

Websites

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Check the "Publications" tab to search for specific information relating to your topic.
Shaken Baby Syndrome (Mayo Clinic)
The Mayo Clinic provides trustworthy health and treatment information. This page gives an introduction to Shaken Baby Syndrome symptoms, causes, and more
The National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention
Find facts and statistics about infant abuse and neglect, as well as links to other helpful sites on this topic.