LibGuides: Infant Mortality: SIDS

Databases

Relevant databases for this topic are listed below, along with links to articles that will help you get a sense of what each database has to offer. If you need any help with databases, see Ms. Forfa!

Research in Context Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Health and Medicine Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health and Wellness Resource Center Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (UXL Encyclopedia of Science)
Topic overview about SIDS from the Research in Context database. This is the best place to start your research!
Babies Face Higher SIDS Risk in Certain States
Article discussing SIDS statistics in the United States from the magazine Consumer Health News
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome
Overview article from the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Breastfeeding for at least 2 months provides SIDS protection (Contemporary Pediatrics)
Results from a study discuss how breastfeeding may be beneficial to reducing the risk of SIDS.
SIDS research confirms changes in babies' brain chemistry
Brief article about the recent connection researchers have made between SIDS and infant brain abnormalities.
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome
Article about SIDS from Research in Context database
Keep babies safe from positional asphixia
USA Today article found in Research in Context database

Websites

American SIDS Institute
This nonprofit organization publishes statistics, research findings, prevention measures for SIDS, and more.
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (Mayo Clinic)
The Mayo Clinic provides trustworthy health and treatment information. This page gives an introduction to SIDS causes and prevention.
About SUID and SIDS (CDC)
Information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

MLA citation for image: SIDS Risks, 16 November 2016. Kidspot. http://www.kidspot.com.au/parenting/real-life/in-the-news/is-this-the-end-of-sids-major-breakthrough-in-cause-of-mysterious-killer/news-story/a6c517beae6dd8d1329ed11923e83499. Accessed 1 March 2018.

Infant Mortality: SIDS

What is SIDS?

Databases

Websites