LibGuides: Biomes: Find Information

Databases

Science in Context
This database is one-stop shopping! You'll find in-depth, trustworthy information, statistics, news, and more about your chosen biome. Just search "biomes" to get to the topic page (shown above). From there you can search within the page to find specific information about your biome.

Did you know that most databases can generate an MLA citation for you? It's super easy, and by using a database for research, you can be sure that the information you find is accurate. It's a win-win! Can't figure out how to pull a citation from the database? See Ms. Forfa for help.

Good Websites

These websites have been determined to be good sources of information. You may search the Web on your own as well, but be cautious. Don't rely on the first 3 Google search results! Before you decide to use a website in your research, try to determine the author/sponsor of the site. Check the domain. See when the site was last updated. Evaluate what you see, and check with your teacher or librarian before moving forward with that website. Remember, anyone can write anything and put it on the Internet, so use a critical eye.

Biomes of the World
This website, run by Marietta College Dept. of Biology and Environmental Science, is a great place to begin your research. Use the index to search the site.
Biomes of the World- Dept. of Geospatial Science, Redford University
Boundless Biomes
This site is sponsored by Arizona State University, The National Science Foundation, and NSDL.
Mission: Biomes
This site is managed by NASA's Earth Observatory
Missouri Botanical Gardens: Biomes of the World
Besides good information, this site also contains lots of high quality photos of biomes and the various species of plants and animals that live in each one.
The Wild Classroom: Biomes of the World
Contains great features including an interactive map. On this site you'll also find information about the manmade disruption and conservation of biomes.
(Note: Parts of this site are under construction. Depending on your chosen biome, this site may not be helpful to you. Take a quick look around to determine whether or not your specific biome is addressed in depth.)
The World's Biomes
Basic overview of biomes, with pages covering each of the 6 biome categories in greater depth.

Click an image to learn more

Featured Resource: Biomes in Virtual Reality!

360 Virtual Reality Biomes
Researching the desert or rainforest biome? This site allows users to interact with the sights and sounds found in each.

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Britannica School
Find general information and characteristics of each biome.

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Call Number: REF 575.001 ENC
You can find this multivolume set in the nonfiction section of the library.

The Carbon Cycle

Climatica: The Carbon Cycle
This site describes the various ways in which humans disrupt the carbon cycle.

The Water Cycle

USGS: The Water Cycle
This interactive diagram breaks down and describes each process within the water cycle. Be sure to select "Advanced Version" at the top right corner.

The Water Cycle
Learn how humans impact the water cycle.